Wines from Basilicata

Wines from Basilicata

3 products
    3 products

    Basilicata, in southern Italy, is a region whose name crops up only very rarely in wine circles. It is best known for red wines from the Aglianico variety, and in particular the Aglianico del Vulture appellation.

    It is home to just four DOCs, which collectively cover only two bottles in every hundred produced here. The remaining 98 percent is sold either under IGT titles or – more likely – Vino da Tavola. Compared to other Italian wine regions, total wine production in here is very small at less than 50 million liters.

    While Aglianico is the 'celebrity' of the region, the huge range of 'understudy' varieties that for years seldom gained attention are now taking centre stage. This is mainly thanks to the greater flexibility of IGT regulations. There are some very pleasant examples of Moscato, and some superb Malvasia. The best of these come from the Vulture zone and the eastern Bradano Valley.

    Primitivo, Sangiovese and Montepulciano also do particularly well, as does Bombino Nero. The Aglianico grape is the star of the Aglianico del Vulture wine. But it is also grown some distance away on the plains of Matera for use in Vino da Tavola wines. (© Wine-Searcher). 

    Recently viewed

Wines from Basilicata

Weine aus Basilikata

4 Produkte
    4 Produkte
    Musto Carmelitano MASCHITANO ROSSO Aglianico del Vulture DOC 2017 | Organic Red Wine SFr. 15
    Musto Carmelitano MASCHITANO ROSSO Aglianico del Vulture DOC Bio 2018
    CHF 15.00
    Musto Carmelitano MASCHITANO ROSSO Aglianico del Vulture DOC 2017 | Organic Red Wine SFr. 15
    Musto Carmelitano MASCHITANO ROSSO Aglianico del Vulture DOC Bio 2017
    CHF 15.00
    Musto Carmelitano MASCHITANO BIANCO 2020 | Organic White Wine SFr. 15
    Musto Carmelitano MASCHITANO BIANCO Bio 2020
    CHF 15.00
    Musto Carmelitano PIAN DEL MORO Aglianico del Vulture DOC 2017 | Organic Red Wine SFr. 20.5
    Musto Carmelitano PIAN DEL MORO Aglianico del Vulture DOC Bio 2016
    CHF 20.50

    Die Basilikata in Süditalien ist eine Region, deren Name in Weinkreisen nur sehr selten auftaucht. Sie ist vor allem für Rotweine aus der Rebsorte Aglianico bekannt, insbesondere für die Appellation Aglianico del Vulture.

    Hier gibt es nur vier DOCs, die zusammen nur zwei von hundert produzierten Flaschen abdecken. Die restlichen 98 Prozent werden entweder unter IGT-Titeln oder - was wahrscheinlicher ist - als Vino da Tavola verkauft. Im Vergleich zu anderen italienischen Weinregionen ist die gesamte Weinproduktion hier mit weniger als 50 Millionen Litern sehr gering.

    Während der Aglianico der "Star" der Region ist, rücken die zahlreichen "Zweitbesetzungen", die jahrelang kaum Beachtung fanden, nun in den Mittelpunkt. Dies ist vor allem auf die größere Flexibilität der IGT-Verordnungen zurückzuführen. Es gibt einige sehr angenehme Beispiele für Moscato und einige hervorragende Malvasia. Die besten von ihnen kommen aus dem Vulture-Gebiet und dem östlichen Bradano-Tal.

    Primitivo, Sangiovese, Montepulciano und Bombino Nero sind ebenfalls sehr gut. Die Aglianico-Traube ist der Star des Weines Aglianico del Vulture. Sie wird aber auch etwas weiter entfernt in der Ebene von Matera angebaut und für den Vino da Tavola verwendet. (© Wine-Searcher). 

    Zuletzt Angesehen