Wines from Basilicata

Wines from Basilicata

3 products
    3 products

    Basilicata, in southern Italy, is a region whose name crops up only very rarely in wine circles. It is best known for red wines from the Aglianico variety, and in particular the Aglianico del Vulture appellation.

    It is home to just four DOCs, which collectively cover only two bottles in every hundred produced here. The remaining 98 percent is sold either under IGT titles or – more likely – Vino da Tavola. Compared to other Italian wine regions, total wine production in here is very small at less than 50 million liters.

    While Aglianico is the 'celebrity' of the region, the huge range of 'understudy' varieties that for years seldom gained attention are now taking centre stage. This is mainly thanks to the greater flexibility of IGT regulations. There are some very pleasant examples of Moscato, and some superb Malvasia. The best of these come from the Vulture zone and the eastern Bradano Valley.

    Primitivo, Sangiovese and Montepulciano also do particularly well, as does Bombino Nero. The Aglianico grape is the star of the Aglianico del Vulture wine. But it is also grown some distance away on the plains of Matera for use in Vino da Tavola wines. (© Wine-Searcher). 

    Recently viewed

Wines from Basilicata

Vins de Basilicate

3 items
    3 items
    Musto Carmelitano MASCHITANO ROSSO Aglianico del Vulture DOC 2017 | Organic Red Wine SFr. 15
    Musto Carmelitano MASCHITANO ROSSO Aglianico del Vulture DOC Bio 2018
    CHF 15.00
    Musto Carmelitano MASCHITANO BIANCO 2020 | Organic White Wine SFr. 15
    Musto Carmelitano MASCHITANO BIANCO Bio 2020
    CHF 15.00
    Musto Carmelitano PIAN DEL MORO Aglianico del Vulture DOC 2017 | Organic Red Wine SFr. 20.5
    Musto Carmelitano PIAN DEL MORO Aglianico del Vulture DOC Bio 2016
    CHF 20.50

    Basilicate, dans le sud de l'Italie, est une région dont le nom n'apparaît que très rarement dans le milieu viticole. Il est surtout connu pour les vins rouges du cépage Aglianico, et en particulier l'appellation Aglianico del Vulture.

    Il abrite seulement quatre DOC, qui ne couvrent collectivement que deux bouteilles sur cent produites ici. Les 98% restants sont vendus soit sous des titres IGT, soit – plus probablement – Vino da Tavola. Comparé à d'autres régions viticoles italiennes, la production totale de vin ici est très faible à moins de 50 millions de litres.

    Alors que l'Aglianico est la «célébrité» de la région, la vaste gamme de variétés «doublées» qui, pendant des années, ont rarement attiré l'attention, occupe désormais le devant de la scène. Ceci est principalement dû à la plus grande flexibilité de la réglementation IGT. Il y a quelques exemples très agréables de Moscato, et de superbes Malvasia. Les meilleurs d'entre eux proviennent de la zone Vulture et de l'est de la vallée de Bradano.

    Le Primitivo, le Sangiovese et le Montepulciano s'en sortent également particulièrement bien, tout comme le Bombino Nero. Le cépage Aglianico est la star du vin Aglianico del Vulture. Mais il est également cultivé à une certaine distance dans les plaines de Matera pour être utilisé dans les vins Vino da Tavola. (© Wine-Searcher). 

    Vu récemment