Wines from Aosta Valley

Wines from Aosta Valley

2 products
    2 products

    Aosta Valley (Valle d'Aosta) is Italy's smallest and least populous region, just one-eighth the size of neighboring Piedmont.

    Despite the region's small size and minimal fame, a wide range of both red and white wines are made here from a selection of both native and introduced grape varieties. The most important of these is Picotendro, the local form of Nebbiolo.

    Aosta is clearly influenced by its neighbors. French is the official second language here, and French grape varieties are just as common here as Italian varieties. Chardonnay and Gamay grow cheek-by-jowl alongside Nebbiolo and Dolcetto. 

    In addition to the more familiar grape varieties, the Institut Agricole Régional has indexed a selection of native regional grapes. Some of these are well suited to use in single-variety wines, others used only in blends. Petit Rouge is arguably the most important of these (besides Picotendro). Fumin and Vien de Nus are also widely used, creating taut, spicy red wines. Fruity white wines are produced in both dry and sweet styles, from Prie Blanc, Moscato Bianco and Pinot Grigio.

    Although the Aosta Valley has no DOCG titles, this is not necessarily an indication that there is no high-quality wine of interest produced here. The curious mix of grapes, terroir and culture provides intrigue in this region’s wines. (© Wine-Searcher)

    Recently viewed

Wines from Aosta Valley

Vins de la Vallée d'Aoste

4 items
    4 items
    La Plantze Nagott 2016 | Red Wine SFr. 32
    La Plantze NAGOTT 2019
    CHF 32.00
    La Plantze Nagott 2016 | Red Wine SFr. 32
    La Plantze NAGOTT 2016
    CHF 32.00
    La Plantze Torrette Superior DOC 2020 | Red Wine SFr. 20.5
    La Plantze TORRETTE SUPERIEUR DOC 2021
    CHF 20.50
    La Plantze Ferox 2020 | White Wine SFr. 20.5
    La Plantze FEROX 2020
    CHF 20.50

    Vallée d'Aoste (Vallée d'Aoste) est la région la plus petite et la moins peuplée d'Italie, à peine un huitième de la taille du Piémont voisin.

    Malgré la petite taille et la renommée minimale de la région, une large gamme de vins rouges et blancs est élaborée ici à partir d'une sélection de cépages indigènes et introduits. Le plus important d'entre eux est Picotendro, la forme locale de Nebbiolo.

    Aoste est clairement influencée par ses voisins. Le français est la deuxième langue officielle ici, et les cépages français sont tout aussi répandus ici que les cépages italiens. Chardonnay et Gamay se côtoient Nebbiolo et Dolceto. 

    En plus des cépages plus connus, l'Institut Agricole Régional a répertorié une sélection de cépages autochtones régionaux. Certains d'entre eux sont bien adaptés à une utilisation dans les vins monovariétals, d'autres utilisés uniquement dans les assemblages. Petit Rouge est sans doute le plus important d'entre eux (en plus de Picotendro). Fumin et Vien de Nus sont également largement utilisés, créant des vins rouges tendus et épicés. Des vins blancs fruités sont produits dans des styles secs et doux, à partir de Prie Blanc, Moscato Bianco et Pinot Grigio.

    Bien que la Vallée d'Aoste n'ait pas de titres DOCG, cela n'indique pas nécessairement qu'il n'y a pas de vin d'intérêt de haute qualité produit ici. Le curieux mélange de raisins, de terroir et de culture intrigue les vins de cette région. (© Wine-Searcher)

    Vu récemment