Wines from Puglia

Wines from Puglia

6 products

    Puglia (Apulia to many English speakers) is a long, thin wine region in the far south-eastern corner of the 'boot' of Italy. To continue the footwear analogy often used to illustrate Italy’s shape, Puglia runs from the very point of the heel to just below mid-calf height, where the 'spur' of the Gargano Peninsula juts out into the Adriatic Sea.

    The heel (the Salento Peninsula) occupies the southern half of the region, and is of great significance to Puglia's identity. Not only are there cultural and geographical differences when compared to northern Puglia, but the wines are also different. Where the north is slightly hillier and more connected to the customs and winemaking practices of central Italy, the south is almost entirely flat and retains a strong connection with its Greco-Roman past. 

    At the turn of the century, only a tiny percentage of Puglian wine was of DOC quality; that figure is now climbing steadily and new DOCs are being introduced. In 2010 the region even gained its first DOCG in Primitivo di Manduria Dolce Naturale, followed a year later by a trio of red wines lifted up out of the Castel del Monte DOC.

    The "true" Puglia is to be found in the south, below the Brindisi–Taranto line, which traces the southernmost stretch of the Appian Way. Here the wines are made from grape varieties almost unique to the area, while in the north the prevalent grapes are those used all over central and northern Italy (such as Sangiovese and Montepulciano).

    The most obviously full-blooded Puglian grapes are Negroamaro and Primitivo, while Verdeca is the only salient example among the whites in this hot, red-dominated region. Primitivo is at home in Manduria and Gioia del Colle, and creates robust, powerful wines known locally as "mirr test" (hard wine).

    Negroamaro is more widespread and defines the red wines of the majority of southern Puglia's DOCs. The coastal town of Ostuni marks the northern boundary of this most Puglian of zones, with its whites based on Impigno (a crossing of Bombino Bianco and Quagliano) and rosés made from Ottavianello (Cinsaut). Sweet Muscat-based Moscato di Trani and Gravina (made from Greco Bianco) provide respite from the sea of red wines here. (© Wine-Searcher). 

    Recently viewed

Wines from Puglia

Vins des Pouilles

1 item
    1 item
    Tormaresca NEPRICA Primitivo Puglia IGT 2021
    CHF 11.00

    Pouilles (Apulia pour de nombreux anglophones) est une longue et mince région viticole située à l'extrême sud-est de la « botte » de l'Italie. Pour continuer l'analogie de la chaussure souvent utilisée pour illustrer la forme de l'Italie, les Pouilles s'étendent de la pointe du talon jusqu'à juste en dessous de la mi-mollet, là où «l'éperon» de la péninsule du Gargano s'avance dans la mer Adriatique.

    Le talon (la péninsule du Salento) occupe la moitié sud de la région et revêt une grande importance pour l'identité des Pouilles. Non seulement il existe des différences culturelles et géographiques par rapport au nord des Pouilles, mais les vins sont également différents. Là où le nord est légèrement plus vallonné et plus lié aux coutumes et aux pratiques viticoles de l'Italie centrale, le sud est presque entièrement plat et conserve un lien fort avec son passé gréco-romain. 

    Au tournant du siècle, seul un infime pourcentage du vin des Pouilles était de qualité DOC ; ce chiffre est maintenant en constante augmentation et de nouveaux COD sont introduits. En 2010, la région a même obtenu son premier DOCG à Primitivo di Manduria Dolce Naturale, suivi un an plus tard par un trio de vins rouges issus du Castel del Monte DOC.

    La "vraie" Pouilles se trouve au sud, sous la ligne Brindisi-Taranto, qui trace le tronçon le plus méridional de la voie Appienne. Ici, les vins sont élaborés à partir de cépages presque uniques à la région, tandis que dans le nord, les raisins les plus répandus sont ceux utilisés dans tout le centre et le nord de l'Italie (comme le Sangiovese et le Montepulciano).

    Les cépages des Pouilles les plus pur sang sont le Negroamaro et le Primitivo, tandis que le Verdeca est le seul exemple saillant parmi les blancs de cette région chaude à dominante rouge. Primitivo est chez lui à Manduria et Gioia del Colle, et crée des vins robustes et puissants connus localement sous le nom de "mirr test" (vin dur).

    Negroamaro est plus répandu et définit les vins rouges de la majorité des DOC du sud des Pouilles. La ville côtière d'Ostuni marque la limite nord de cette zone la plus des Pouilles, avec ses blancs à base d'Impigno (croisement de Bombino Bianco et de Quagliano) et ses rosés à base d'Ottavianello (Cinsaut). Doux à base de Muscat Mascate de Trani et Gravina (fait à partir de Blanc grec) offrent un répit de la mer de vins rouges ici. (© Wine-Searcher). 

    Vu récemment